Travel

SF Eats II

Screen shot 2013-05-12 at 11.21.03 AM

Tartine is famous for its pastry, I’d read all about their famous morning bun and all the lip smacking pastries that are churned out from their ovens. I planned to get there at 7:30 am in the morning just to avoid the crowd. I’d drawn out routes to take from my hotel at Union Square by train (I think?) to Mission Distrinct where Tartine is at and I overslept =’( I hoped into a cab in a panic (food related panic) and arriving at 9:15 am on a Tuesday morning! there was already a long line around the block outside Tartine **cry**

IMG-20110910-00419IMG-20110910-00422IMG-20110910-00420Screen shot 2013-05-12 at 11.23.44 AM

As much as I hate lining up, the tempting smell of fresh pastry (= the smell of happiness) saturated the air and hovered around the block, there’s no turning back now. Since it was packed to the brim, I decided to get takeout as and eat as I stroll along the Mission District. Once I got into the store, I was like a kid in Candyland (not just candystore) **eyes widened and sparkled with joy and excitement** I was careful NOT to embarrass myself by sticking my face onto the glass and drool as I checked out all the pastries on display. I’m seriously not good at making decision when presented with choices, especially SO MANY OF THEM!!! So I got the simplest pastries – the croissant and the double au pain chocolate. Both of them were decadent, rich, flaky with all the buttery goodness, pure scrumptious, the double au pain uses dark chocolate which oozes out on every bite **drool**

I would love to go back and try EVERYTHING on their menu!!

Tartine Bakery & Cafe
600 Guerrero Street or
561 Valencia St
(415) 487-2600

Bi – Rite Creamery is just around the corner from Tartine, check out the flavors on their website!! # # trifecta a scoop of each: salted caramel, brown sugar with ginger caramel swirl, and malted vanilla with peanut brittle and chocolate. BEST ICE CREAM EVER!

Bi-Rite Creamery
3692 18th St
‎(415) 626-5600
biritecreamery.com‎

Standard

One thought on “SF Eats II

Leave a Reply

