Brunch spot, Hong Kong Restaurant

Lazy sunday at BurgeRoom & Kindergarten

I’ve been feeling incredibly restless since I got back from Israel, I think I’ve caught the travel bug **faints a little** and this crappy weather doesn’t help one bit. I have ZERO motivation to do anything, no motivation to eat (ok, I lied..) **correction** no motivation to eat AND write ( that sounds more like it) which resulted in stockpile of notes from the restaurants I’d been to the past month or so….  I’ll get to those new and fancy restaurants very soon, I promise, but today, on this crappy rainy day, all I can think of is comfort food…

I’m not a big fan of burger but now and then I have my burger craving and would have burgers 4,5 days in a row. Mostly coz I’m just not satisfied with the quality of burgers in Hong Kong. Today I had one of those burger cravings and Ver and I went to BurgeRoom to get my burger fix (Thanks Ver!!).

The tiny burger joint was packed to the brim when we arrived but we were lucky to take up the last two seats. I ordered the mushroom beef burger while Ver had the pineapple chicken burger

IMG_00000610IMG_00000609

My mushroom and beef burger was delicious, the patty was well done (most burger patties are only moist and tender coz they are still pink in the middle) but so juicy, tender and flavorful, the tomato was fresh and lettuce crunchy, the bun was pillowy soft and springy and was grilled to perfection. I had a bite off Ver’s pineapple chicken burger, hmm.. it was ok, it’d have been better if the pineapple was grilled a little longer and the chicken was a little on the dry side, all in all, I prefer the chicken burger at common ground.

IMG_00000611IMG_00000613

Since there were still patrons waiting outside of the restaurant, we decided to get the bill and go somewhere else. While driving around Causeway Bay Ver suddenly thought of the iced chocolate drink from Kindergarten in Tai Hang, we had tried walking in twice and got rejected at the door. Even though we din make a reservation (AGAIN!), we thought we could try our luck. It surprises me every time I go there, it’s always full house and the bookings are always full.

IMG_00000630IMG_00000614

We waited for awhile and ended up ordering the iced chocolate for take out. The iced chocolate was intense, like drinking melted dark chocolate (tasted like 70% dark chocolate) with tiny bit of ice. While we loved the intensity, I wish it were smoother, maybe with lesser chunk of ice?  I don’t know if it’s worth going to Tai Hang for thou, maybe one of these days I’ll finally make a reservation and try the rest of the items on its menu as well =)

IMG_00000629

The Burger Room
7 Caroline Hill Rd
Causeway Bay, Hong Kong,
Tel: 2890-9130
http://www.burgeroom.com
Hours: Sun-Thu 10:30am-10pm
Fri-Sat 10:30am-midnight

Kindergarten
G/F, 35 Sun Chun Street, Tai Hang
Tel: 2657 7562
Hours: Fri: 17:00-23:00;
Sat&Sun: 14:00-23:00

Standard

One thought on “Lazy sunday at BurgeRoom & Kindergarten

Leave a Reply

